• COMMERCIAL PROJET : 50 WEST STREET, NYC

    Setting (typology): Model apartment for the residential program of a mixed-use tower in Lower Manhattan Year of construction: 2016 Client: Real estate firm Time Equities Inc.

    50 West Street, the curved 64-storey tower by the architect Helmut Jahn, offers 191 units of sumptuous living at a level previously unknown in the Financial District. In response to the vocation of the neighbourhood, the lower floors house office space. The tower’s panoramic apartments begin on the 14th floor.

    In the summer of 2016, the pace of unit sales had slumped following a brisk start (30% of the units were sold in a single day). To spark interest in the remaining properties, Time Equities gave Desjardins Bherer a mandate to design one of the building’s duplexes. It may come as a surprise that a New York real estate company would recruit the services of a Montreal design studio, but Francis Greenburger, the company’s CEO, had an opportunity to assess the skills of Desjardins Bherer ten years earlier in work performed by the firm on two apartments he owns in Montreal. “A project delivered on time and on budget. That is what impressed the client, we delivered within the strict budget and time constraints.”

    From the outset, the positioning campaign for 50 West Street was best summed up by its slogan, “Redefining luxury living.” In this sense, Desjardins Bherer was the ideal choice. In sharp contrast to the standard American approach, the firm practises a form of opulence that reinterprets the outward signs of wealth with a stripped-down representation that is refined rather than ostentatious, materials that are selected for their quality and contrast, the right piece of furniture in just the right place, and an elegance that is never achieved at the expense of comfort.

    The overriding constraint in a model apartment is that it needs to appeal to as many people as possible. The mandate was to “engender a desire to live at 50 West Street.” How did the designers’ respond? With enough discretion that the potential buyer would not be distracted from the view of the Hudson River, “the project’s greatest asset,” and by bringing the oversized volumes of the loft-style room back to human scale. “We also wanted a clear sense of the double-height space, the feeling of luxury it lends to the space.”

    So, as a first step, the alcove on the wall perpendicular to the great glazed bay was clad in mirror. This served to reflect the neighbouring skyscrapers, visually expanding the room in length and balancing its strong points. Furnished with deep low sofas, the mirrored alcove symbolizes warmth. Like a magnet, it draws in the viewer. Suddenly the space appears warmer than it actually is.

    From there, the design draws on American furniture of the 1950s, with its cult designers (Georges Nelson, Eero Saarinen, Hans Wegner, etc.). The walls are animated with contemporary art that is impeccable without being overly specific. The art adds a certain sophistication, but some pieces also serve a structural purpose. This is true of the expansive, dark painting above the alcove: even though it acts as a horizontal reference, it brings out the verticality of the room, since the eye doesn’t stop there. The sculptural chandelier in the dining room serves the same purpose, if only because this cluster of six lights makes the ceiling seem that much closer. As a result, the sense of emptiness generated by the very tall room has been mitigated.

    Ultimately, a few items serve as exclamation marks: Eden, Marcel Wanders’ circular carpet; the Toio floor lamps by the Castiglioni brothers; and the exceptional sparkle of the Bloom suspension lamps by Ferruccio Laviani. These strong, unexpected elements inject some energy into the whole. They bring a spark of life into a basically conventional design, something that is so often missing from model homes. While they may not seem like much, they provide the kind of flashy detail that can capture the attention of another client group targeted by Time Equities: the cool and affluent thirty-somethings known as Yuccies. So it was mission accomplished for René Desjardins and Marc Bherer. Whether a prospective buyer is conservative, progressive or snobbish, an expatriate or an old-stock New Yorker, steeped in design or new to it, all are able to identify with the 50 West Street duplex.

    Project Manager: Marc Bherer / Architect: Helmut Jahn / Photographs: Neil Landino / Exterior renderings: QuallsBenson

• PROJET COMMERCIAUX : 50 WEST NYC

    Typologie : appartement témoin pour le programme habitation d'une tour à usage mixte dans Lower Manhattan. Date de réalisation : 2016 Client: société immobilière Time Equities inc.


    La tour en verre bombé de l'architecte Helmut Jahn, le 50 West Street, qui compte 64 étages et 191 logements promet un cadre de vie d'une somptuosité jusque-là inconnue dans le Financial District. Composant avec la vocation du quartier, elle abrite des bureaux sur les niveaux inférieurs. Les appartements panoramiques, ne démarrent qu'au 14e étage.

    Été 2016, la progression des ventes fléchit, après un début fulgurant (30% trouve preneur en une journée). Afin de susciter un regain d'intérêt pour les unités encore disponibles, Time Equities confie à Desjardins Bherer l'aménagement de l'un des duplex. On peut s'étonner qu'une société immobilière new-yorkaise recrute un studio de design montréalais. En fait, le directeur général Francis Greenburger a pu apprécier les compétences de Desjardins Bherer lors des travaux effectués, une dizaine d'années auparavant, dans les deux appartements qu'il possède à Montréal, «Un projet livré au coût et à la date prévus. C'est ce qui a impressionné le client, notre respect strict des limites budgétaires et de l'échéance.»

    Depuis les débuts, le positionnement publicitaire du 50 West Street s'illustre à travers le slogan Redéfinir les codes du luxe. En ce sens, Desjardins Bherer était la firme de la situation. Aux antipodes du parti-pris américain, l'opulence telle qu'ils la pratiquent joue le jeu d'une représentation dépouillée où le raffinement plutôt que l'ostentatoire, la qualité des matières contrastées, le juste meuble au bon endroit, un chic qui n'oublie jamais le confort revisitent les signes extérieurs de la richesse.

    Le décor d'un appartement modèle a ceci de contraignant, qu'il doit plaire au plus grand nombre. «Susciter l'envie de vivre au 50 West Street», tel est le mandat. La réponse des designers? User de discrétion pour ne pas détourner l'acheteur potentiel de la vue sur l'Hudson River, «le grand atout du projet», et ramener à taille humaine les volumes démesurés de la pièce style loft au premier niveau. «Par ailleurs, nous voulions qu'on ''sente'' la double hauteur sous plafond, l'effet de luxe qui s'en dégage.»

    Donc, dans un premier temps, recouvrir de miroir l'alcôve située sur le mur perpendiculaire à celui de l'immense baie vitrée. Un moyen de reflèter les gratte-ciels avoisinants, d'élargir visuellement la pièce tout en longueur et d'équilibrer les lignes de force. Garnie de profonds canapés bas sur pattes, l'alcôve miroir symbolise la convivialité. Comme un aimant, elle attire le regard. Du coup l'espace semble plus chaleureux qu'il ne l'est en réalité.

    À partir de là, convoquer pour l'ameublement l'Amérique des années 50 et ses designers culte (Georges Nelson, Eero Saarinen, Hans Wegner, etc.). Animer les murs à l'aide d'oeuvres d'art actuel, impeccables sans être trop spécifiques. Outre la note sophistiquée qu'elles ajoutent, certaines ont aussi une fonction structurale. C'est le cas du grand tableau nocturne au-dessus de l'alcôve: bien qu'il serve de référence horizontale, il sublime la verticalité de la pièce puisque l'œil ne s'y arrête pas. Le lustre sculptural dans la salle à manger remplit le même rôle, si ce n'est que la disposition en grappe des six luminaires donne au plafond une impression de proximité. Conséquemment, le ressenti de vide généré par les pièces très hautes s'atténue.

    En bout de ligne, placer ici et là quelques points d'exclamation - tapis circulaire Eden de Marcel Wanders, lampes de sol Toio des frères Castiglioni, suspensions Bloom de Ferruccio Laviani au scintillement exceptionnel. Ces éléments forts, inattendus, insufflent du pep à l'ensemble. Dans un aménagement somme toute conventionnel, ils apportent la vie qui trop souvent manque aux maisons témoins. L'air de rien, c'est le genre de détail flashy susceptible d'accrocher une autre clientèle ciblée par Time Equities: les trentenaires cool et fortunés dits yuccies. Mission accomplie pour René Desjardins et Marc Bherer. Conservateurs, progressistes ou snobs, expatriés ou New-Yorkais de vieille souche, amateurs de design ou pas, chacun peut se reconnaître dans le duplex aménagé au 50 West Street.

    Chargé de projet : Marc Bherer / Architecte : Helmut Jahn / Photos : Neil Landino / Rendus extérieurs : QuallsBenson