• PROJECT : CHIC IN THE WOODS

    Setting (building type): A villa in a stand of maples in Estrie Construction: 2013 Clients : A couple with two teenaged children, art collector and Who’s Who regular


    After being smitten by a stand of maples in the Magog region, the client began by demolishing the former owner’s house, a 1950s fieldstone structure, only preserving the dining room. Next he contacted a local builder to develop an architecture based on the original structure. In the meanwhile, the couple saw some work by René Desjardins (see Arte & Moda). Although they felt they had their basic framework, he would know how to transform it into something exceptional.

    Deftly, the client raised the subject with an innocuous question: “Would you like to see the plans for my country home?” The rest was destiny; René Desjardins very quickly got on board. Among other things, he suggested opening many views to the out-of-doors, letting nature invade it from all sides. He also proposed expanding the kitchen space, in both depth and height, since the couple were planning many dinner parties and this room would be key. These ideas were quickly embraced by the owners.

    The discussions hit a rocky patch when it came time to organize the interior spaces. The owner wanted the garden level to be open, like a loft, while the designer felt that the functions needed more structure. “Otherwise, it’s sure to be a shambles.” The two protagonists finally settled on divisions that would underscore a sense of the whole, with adjoining rooms connecting through large openings in the walls.

    One constraint remained: the front entrance opened directly onto a stair that could not be moved for structural reasons. How could guests be drawn toward the celebrations, i.e. the kitchen? By creating a luminous wine cellar, which would pull them across the living room. This effect would be reinforced by the pumpkin bar, the sole splash of bright colour – besides the paintings – in a decor entirely lined in white oak: the floors stained anthracite, and the walls and ceilings bleached.

    Perched in perfect balance between a sparseness verging on impoverishment and refined sensuality, the project initially appears to have nothing to do with our idea of a cottage. Imperceptibly, a sense of weightlessness takes over, through small details that lighten the architecture. There are no baseboards to demarcate wall and floor, yet the openings are set off by fine dark mouldings, the doors to adjoining rooms (living room, washroom, cloakroom, mudroom) merge into the walls, and the transparent banister does its best to disappear.

    Slowly you begin to realize that this wood cocoon, made of planks and beams, stone and rattan, follows rather closely the codes of a cottage in the woods. The difference – and it isn’t small – is that in this case rusticity has been made discretely opulent and radically contemporary. Using wood as the only finish has created an immediate sense of well-being, but it also unifies the reception areas, creating a consistent, free and light continuity where the spirit of a loft can take root, just as the client had intended.

    In the dining room, the last remaining vestige of the former building, the beams have been painted flat black, and the monumental frame of the period fireplace, in planks of limestone bolted in place, adds an unexpected industrial touch. As tradition would want it, the fireplace is adorned with a moose head, a somewhat startling and ironic presence among the ultra-contemporary furnishings of this room, bare like a dining hall in a monastery.

    In sharp contrast, the living room warms with more intimacy. Scattered across a grand carpet of knotted bamboo fibre, we find linen sofas, armchairs with low and comfortable seats for maximum relaxation (with wheels for added flexibility), and many occasional tables, forming inviting islands to rest, read and chat under adjustable floor lamps. Here again, everything is pared down to the essential and expressed with careful consideration. And, of course, the circulation is fluid, from the entrance to the kitchen-bar.

    A gourmet cook, the owner was clear: “I have no problem sharing the bar, but I want no-one around my saucepans to distract me.” And with that, it was done. The two areas, public and private, face each other, separated by a subliminal no-man’s land of circulation space between the living and dining rooms. The double-height ceiling in the kitchen underscores this chasm, as does the glass wall. In the centre of it all is the chef’s work area. This is more than a professional’s kitchen; it is a stage for gourmet theatre. Heaven help he who dares distract the star of the evening!

    Photos : Paul-André Larocque (Punk Studio)

• PROJET : LE CHIC AU NATUREL

    Typologie : villa dans une érablière en Estrie Date de réalisation : 2013 Client : couple avec deux ados, collectionneur d’art et habitué du bottin mondain

    Après avoir succombé aux attraits d’une érablière dans la région de Magog, le premier geste du client fut de démolir la maison de l’ancien propriétaire, un bâtiment en pierres des champs datant des années 50, pour ne conserver que la salle à manger. Le second, de s’adresser à un constructeur local, avec mission de concevoir une architecture dérivée de la stucture d’origine. Sauf qu’entretemps, le couple a pu apprécier la compétence de René Desjardins (voir Arte & Moda). La carcasse est déjà définie mais lui saurait la faire évoluer vers quelque chose d’exceptionnel.

    Fort adroitement, le client aborde le sujet par une question d’apparence anodine : « Veux-tu voir les plans de ma maison de campagne? » Ce qui devait arriver arriva, très vite René Desjardins se pique au jeu. Il suggère entre autres de multiplier les ouvertures sur l’extérieur pour laisser entrer la nature de toutes parts. D’agrandir en profondeur et en hauteur la cuisine, poste stratégique dans cette maison où le couple a l’intention de beaucoup recevoir à dîner. Propositions validées sur-le-champ.

    Au moment d’organiser l’espace intérieur, les choses se corsent. Le propriétaire souhaite un rez-de-jardin ouvert, façon loft, le designer soutient que les fonctions doivent être hiérarchisées, « sinon c’est le capharnaum assuré». Les deux protagonistes tombent finalement d’accord pour un plan cloisonné, qui permettra néanmoins une vision d’ensemble des pièces en enfilade grâce aux larges baies ouvertes dans les murs.

    Une contrainte persiste : l’entrée s’ouvre directement sur un escalier impossible à délocaliser pour raisons structurales. Comment inciter les invités à se diriger dès leur arrivée vers le point des réjouissances, à savoir la cuisine? En créant un cellier lumineux, qui agit comme un aimant à travers le salon. Effet renforcé par le bar potiron, seule tache de couleur vive – hormis les tableaux – dans un décor entièrement tapissé de chêne blanc d’Amérique, des parquets teintés anthracite aux murs et plafonds blanchis.

    Point d’équilibre parfait entre quasi dénûment et sensualité raffinée, le projet à première vue tranche avec l’idée qu’on se fait d’un chalet. Un sentiment d’imperceptible apesanteur s’installe, dû à de petits détails qui allègent l’archictecture. Aucune plinthe ne marque le raccord sol/mur, le vide des passages, par contre, est souligné d’une fine moulure foncée, les portes des pièces annexes (séjour, salle de toilette, vestiaire, mudroom) se fondent dans les murs et la rampe d’escalier transparente joue la fille de l’air.

    Peu à peu on réalise que ce cocon de bois, fait de planches et de poutres, de pierre et de rotin, suit bel et bien les codes déco du chalet en forêt. La grande différence, c’est que le naturel rustique se révèle ici discrètement cossu et radicalement actuel. En plus de créer une immédiate sensation de bien-être, l’utilisation du bois comme seul matériau unifie les pièces de réception, les inscrits dans une continuité homogène, libre et légère où transparaît l’esprit loft, conforme aux voeux du client.

    Dans la salle à manger, seul vestige de l’ancien bâtiment, les solives sont peintes noir mat et sur la monumentale cheminée d’époque l’encadrement de foyer, en pierre calcaire boulonnée, apporte une touche industrielle inattendue. Fidèle à la tradition, elle est parée d’un trophé d’orignal dont la présence bouscule, non sans ironie, l’ameublement ultracontemporain de cette pièce aussi dépouillée que le réfectoire d’un monastère.

    À l’opposé, le salon joue la carte atmosphère intimiste. Répartis sur un grand tapis en fibre de bambou bouclée, canapés en lin, fauteuils aux assises basses et confortables pour une relaxation maximum, avec roulettes pour plus de flexibilité, tables d’appoint à profusion forment des ilôts qui invitent à se poser, lire, bavarder sous des lampadaires articulés ou des lampes à poser en branchettes. Encore là, rien que l’essentiel, mais exprimé avec beaucoup d’égards. Et bien sûr, une circulation fluide de l’entrée vers la cuisine-bar.

    Fine cuisinière, la propriétaire avait été formelle : « D’accord pour partager avec le bar, mais je ne veux personne autour de mes casseroles. Ça me déconcentre». Aussitôt exigé, aussitôt conçu. Les deux zones, publique et privé, se font face, séparées par le no man’s land subliminal que constitue l’aire de circulation entre salon et salle à manger. La double hauteur de plafond côte cuisine accentue la différence, le mur verrière aussi. Au centre, le plan de travail où officie la chef. Ceci est plus qu’une cuisine de pro, c’est la mise en scène d’un théâtre gastronomique. Bien audacieux celui qui viendrait distraire la star de la soirée.

    Photos : Paul-André Larocque (Punk Studio)