• PROJET : MAISON DU BOISÉ

    Setting (building type): Family home in the woods. Year of construction: 2011 Clients: A couple in the 30s with three young children and possibly a fourth.

    “Wonderful people. They are enthusiastic and accessible, very much in love, and each of them regards family life as the greatest gift of all. Once they had chosen a wooded site, the mandate was to create a house that would specifically address the children’s well-being. From there, the mother was interested in colour and the father wanted a design that would last ‘indefinitely.’ As for the style, they agreed it would be modern but "not minimalist." This being said, if a designer’s work is to translate his client’s desires, his role is to expand their thinking.”

    Comprising two levels, the living spaces come as a surprise. Highly refined, they are the antithesis of popular notions of a family home, excessively “cosy,” overburdened with colours and objects. Then one begins to perceive the sensitivity of the approach taken. When you ask: What does a child need to feel at home?, designer answers: freedom of movement, achieved through ample spaces, fluid circulation for joyful fun of all kinds, and the removal of barriers between public areas and family spaces.

    Anne (4 years old), Marie (2 years) and Louis (8 months) are welcome throughout the house, including in their parents’ room, which features a sitting area for storytelling. The living room can easily become a play room, with Italian sofas (Flexform) good for innumerable capers and romps easily cohabiting with a “rocking chair” for breastfeeding. From the start, it was understood that life in this house would minimize restrictions and allow for lots of laughter. To this end, the furniture and materials were chosen for the kind of durability that can only be achieved through superb quality and ease of care that, of course, have beauty as their natural extension.

    The double-height space of the living room is bathed in light from a glazed bay, which also serves the mezzanine leading to the bedrooms. The real star here is the view out into nature and the subtle, discrete colours, as well as the rigorous lines of the bookshelves and the Bianco Carrara marble fireplace they respectfully frame. “It is the children who bring it all to life,” says the designer. When night falls and the electric drapes draw closed, the windows become a screen for shadows from the back-lit trees outside.

    Despite the minimally furnished rooms, a monochromatic bias and the Sucupira (Pianeta Legno) floors throughout the house, the decor comes across as anything but minimalist due to accents borrowed from classical architecture. Reinterpreted from a modern perspective, the coffered ceilings, theatrical openings in the passages and wide matt-white mouldings running along the base of the silk-grey walls combine to create a sense of elegance and harmony, but, surprisingly they bring comfort, too.

    Here and there, furtive splashes of colour add an indispensable touch of dissonance, much like grace notes in an overly serious score. This is true of the violet chairs in the dining rooms, where the brushed white oak doors of the china cabinets (Maxalto) open to tangerine lacquer interiors. In the bathroom, the frosted glass partitions concealing the water closets and the shower add a youthful blush to the Grigio Fior di Pesco marble, and in the kitchen a mosaic in hard-candy stripes (Bisazza) creates mayhem around its anthracite-lacquered wood cabinets, granite and stainless steel. Here and there, paintings strike some major chords. Each was carefully selected, from the "Totem of Spontaneity" in the stairwell to the large mixed-media panel in the master bedroom (both by Stephen Spadzuk) and Élise Palardy’s three pastels on mylar in the living room. “There is something naive about them that I thought the children could relate to,” explains Desjardins, a staunch advocate of art in design: “a touch of dreams and poetry.”

    If the interior lets the surrounding landscape in on all sides, in the veranda such contact is absolute. The same can be said for comfort. Adjoining the kitchen, this room has a rusticity that is misleading, with its heated ceiling, insect screens, transparent windbreaker blinds, Spanish cedar panelling and stone tiles. A wall of stainless steel tiles adds a bright note to the custom BBQ area, and iconic Louis Ghost chairs in bluish Plexiglas (Kartell) surround a robust farm table. The contrast of strong/delicate, rough/smooth, massive/transparent yields an exemplary modernism that stands the test of time. As requested, the house will hold its own for many years to come, and will see many years of joy, too.

    Project manager : Anne-Joëlle Chamberland / Photographs : André Doyon

• PROJET : MAISON DU BOISÉ

    Lieu (typologie) : maison familiale au milieu d’un boisé Date de réalisation : 2011 Client : couple trentenaire avec trois jeunes enfants, un quatrième éventuellement


    «Des gens adorables. Ils sont enthousiastes et disponibles,  ils s’aiment et pour elle comme pour lui, il n’y a pas de plus grand bonheur que la joie de vivre en famille. Après le choix du terrain, en pleine nature, le projet supposait une maison qui tienne compte précisément du bien-être des enfants.  À partir de là, Elle voulait de la couleur, Lui, un aménagement réalisé "une fois pour toutes’". Quant au style, les deux s’accordaient sur du contemporain "pas minimaliste".  Cela dit, si un designer se doit de traduire les désirs des clients, son rôle consiste aussi à bousculer leurs repères»

    Se déployant sur deux niveaux, le lieu surprend. Ultra-épuré, il est l’antithèse de la maison de famille telle qu’on l’imagine, ‘’cosy’’ à l’excès, chargée de couleurs et d’objets. Puis on comprend la sensibilité de l’approche. À  la question : Que faut-il à un enfant pour se sentir à l’aise? Le designer répond : la liberté de mouvement, qu’il concrétise par des volumes spacieux, des circulations d’une fluidité propice à de joyeuses cavalcades, l’abolition des frontières entre pièces de réception et pièces familiales.

    De fait, Anne 4 ans, Marie 2 ans  et Charles 8 mois ont leur place partout, jusque dans la chambre des parents qui se prolonge d’un boudoir consacré à l’heure du conte. Le salon lui-même se transforme volontiers en salle de jeux, les canapés italiens (Flexform) avec lesquels se marie sans complexe un ‘’rocking chair’’ d’allaitement, pouvant supporter cabrioles et galipettes à répétition. Dès le début, il était entendu que la vie dans cette maison comporterait le minimum d’interdits et le maximum d’éclats de rire. Pour cela, mobilier et matériaux ont été choisis en fonction de la robustesse que seule procure une qualité irréprochable et de leur facilité d’entretien, l’esthétique allant de soi.

    Sous double hauteur de plafond, le salon est illuminé par une immense baie vitrée dont profite la mezzanine qui dessert les chambres.  La véritable star ici, c’est la vue sur la nature, et la subtile discrétion des couleurs, combinée aux lignes rigoureuses des bibliothèques et de la cheminée en marbre de Bianco Carrara qu’elles encadrent,  s’emploie à ne pas lui faire concurrence. «Les enfants se chargent de l’animation», sourit le designer. Quand tombe la nuit, une fois fermés les voilages à commande électrique, la baie devient un écran où se profilent par rétro-éclairage les ombres du boisé.

    Malgré les pièces meublées à minima, le parti-pris monochromatique, l’uniformité des sols de Sucupira (Pianeta Legno) le décor est tout sauf minimaliste, grâce aux éléments empruntés à l’architecture classique. Revus en mode contemporain, plafonds à caissons, passages marqués par des ouvertures théâtralisées, larges moulures blanc mat soulignant les murs gris soie créent une impression non seulement d’élégance et d’harmonie mais, curieusement, de réconfort aussi.

    Ici et là, de furtives taches de couleur viennent jouer l’indispensable petite note dissonante, à la façon d’appogiatures sur une partition un peu trop sage. C’est le cas des fauteuils violet de la salle à manger, où les portes à rabat des vaisseliers en chêne blanc brossé (Maxalto) dissimulent un intérieur laqué tangerine.  Dans la salle d’eau, les cloisons en verre parme des WC et de la douche donnent un coup de jeune au marbre Grigio Fior di Pesco, tandis qu’une mosaïque à rayures berlingot (Bisazza)  sur les retours d’armoire chahute la cuisine en bois laqué anthracite, granit et inox. Ici et là, des  tableaux plaquent les accords majeurs. Qu’il s’agisse du "Totem de la spontanéité" dans la cage d’escalier, du grand panneau à techniques mixtes de la chambre des parents (les deux Stephen Spadzuk) ou encore  les trois pastels sur mylar d’Élise Palardy dans le salon, leur choix est signifiant. «Ils ont quelque chose de naïf qui m’a semblé accessible à des enfants», explique Desjardins, partisan convaincu de l’art en déco : «la part du rêve et de la poésie».

    Si l’intérieur laisse pénétrer le paysage de toutes parts, dans la véranda le contact avec la nature est absolu. Idem pour le confort. Attenante à la cuisine, surmontée d’un plafond chauffant, garnie de moustiquaires et de stores coupe-vent transparents, lambrissée de cèdre espagnol et dallée de pierres, cette fausse rustique s’amuse aux décalages. Un mur en carreaux d’inox décuple les effets rutilants de l’espace BBQ réalisé sur mesures, les emblématiques chaises en plexi bleuté Louis Ghost (Kartell) entourent une solide table de ferme.  Du contraste brut/délicat, rugueux/lisse, massif/transparent naît une modernité exemplaire, celle dont ne se lasse pas. Tel que spécifié, la maison est appelée à vivre de très longues années. Il en va ainsi du bonheur qu’elle abrite.

    Chargé de projet : Anne-Joëlle Chamberland / Photos : André Doyon