• RESIDENTIAL PROJETS : NORMAN HOUSE

    Setting (typology): A small cottage in the woods (800 ft2 on the ground floor) built in the 1950s on a steep site, with a view to the lake below. Year of construction: 2015 Clients: A semi-retired couple. She is rather delicate and he is very rational. They are a bit bohemian and rather contemplative, lovers of beautiful things and the great outdoors.

    In its time, this was a typical family cottage: rather modest, built to provide a minimum of comfort, rather closed-in. Now its stands transformed. Each vanishing point was considered, so that the occupants could interact with nature from every vantage point. The simplified plan creates an impression of space, and the layout expresses utility, well-being and…abstraction.

    The couple had been living in the cottage for some time. The wife had enjoyed vacations there as a child and appreciated writing there, in the absolute calm. But, oftentimes, taking up permanent residence in a house built for short visits just ends up highlighting its faults. Finally the owners began to dream of a brighter architecture in their cottage. Appreciating the firm’s intelligent and sensitive approach, they called Desjardins Bherer to the rescue.

    Two main ideas came out of the discussions with the clients: take advantage of the view, while staying within a controlled budget, which would include refurbishing the foundations and the roof. This structural work would nevertheless allow the designers to make the most of the living space. By introducing a large sliding bay in the new foundation wall on the south side, the previously unused basement could house a study with a view to the lake, and under the elevated structure of the roof, room was found to add a spacious, deliberately stripped-down master bedroom with a panoramic view of the undulating forest.

    Freed from partitions, the ground floor appears larger than before. Its openings, stretched to their maximum, and the transparent staircase contribute to a sense of living expansively. Taking just one step inside the cottage, the eye is immediately drawn here, there and everywhere. One can see the landscape beyond the riser-free staircase, discover the lake through the glazed basement wall, and apprehend the ridge of tall trees framed by the bay of the sitting room. Beyond the dining room, the kitchen, butted up against the slope of the land, has the best view into the woods, while a large square window, in the washroom upstairs, shows just enough of the sky through the branches and leaves.

    Desjardins Bherer developed a conversation with the cottage’s history, as seen in the original wooden frame and the stucco ceilings. Among the posts and beams, left in their natural state, a more modern tone is set by the clay-grey stained oak flooring, woodwork and walls, the exemplary simplicity of the custom storage units and the ceiling lamps. Here Desjardins Bherer have created a theatrical production in which nature, as the protagonist, becomes the centre of attention.

    Project Manager: Marc Bherer / Photographs: Adrien Williams

• PROJETS RÉSIDENTIELS : MAISON NORMANDE

    Typologie : chalet forestier de dimensions réduite (800 pi2 au sol) bâti dans les années 50 sur un terrain à forte pente, avec lac en contrebas. Date de réalisation : 2015 ClientS : couple de semi-retraités, elle toute finesse, lui très rationnel, un peu bohèmes, plutôt contemplatifs, amateurs de belles choses et de plein air.

    C'était un chalet familial typique de l'époque: plutôt modeste, construit pour fournir aux occupants un confort minimum, renfermé sur lui-même. Le voilà aujourd'hui, transformé. Chaque point de fuite a été pensé de telle sorte que l'interaction avec la nature soit possible partout, le plan simplifié crée une impression d'espace, l'aménagement s'exprime en termes d'utilité, de bien-être et…d'abstraction.

    Depuis quelque temps, un couple habitait le petit chalet. Elle y avait passé enfant ses vacances, lui appréciait de pouvoir écrire dans un calme absolu. Sauf que vivre en permanence dans une maison destinée à de courts séjours en fait bien souvent ressortir les défauts. Arrive le jour où les propriétaires se prennent à rêver d'une architecture intérieure lumineuse. Desjardins Bherer, dont ils apprécient l'approche intelligente et sensible, sont appelés à la rescousse.

    La concertation autour du projet s'appuie sur deux axes: profiter de la vue en respectant un budget contrôlé, lequel budget inclut la remise à neuf des fondations et celle de la toiture. Ce gros œuvre va cependant permettre d'optimiser la surface habitable. Grâce à une immense baie coulissante, imbriquéee dans le nouveau mur de soubassement Sud, le sous-sol autrefois inutilisé accueille désormais un bureau plongeant sur le lac, et sous la charpente surélevée du toit a trouvé place une chambre de maître spacieuse et volontairement dépouillée, offrant en panorama la forêt vallonnée.

    Débarrassé des cloisons le rez-de-chaussée semble gagner en volume Ses ouvertures élargies au maximum, la cage d'escalier transparente participent activement à la sensation de vivre au grand large. Dès l'entrée, le regard s'échappe de toutes parts. Il perçoit le paysage derrière l'escalier sans contremarches, découvre le lac à travers le mur vitré du sous-sol, s'arrête sur le faîte des grands arbres qu'encadre la baie du séjour. En continuité de la salle à manger, la cuisine, adossée à la pente du terrain, jouit d'un point de vue privilégié sur le sous-bois tandis qu'une grande fenêtre carrée, dans la salle d'eau située à l'étage, laisse apparaître juste ce qu'il faut de ciel entre les branches des feuillus.

    Desjardins Bherer établissent un dialogue avec l'histoire des lieux, évoquée par l'ancienne ossature en bois et les plafonds de stuc. Au milieu des poteaux et poutres laissés naturels, le gris argile des parquets en chêne teint, des boiseries et des murs, la simplicité exemplaire des rangements sur mesure, les plafonniers techniques installent la modernité. Desjardins Bherer signent ici une pièce de théâtre où la nature, en tant que personnage principal, monopolise à elle seule toute l'attention.

    Chargé de projet : Marc Bherer / Photos : Adrien Williams