• RESIDENTIAL PROJET : FREE PLAN

    Setting (typology): Primary residence in a Montreal home from the 1990s Year of construction: 2017 Clients: a couple, young grandparents who travel extensively

    A concrete house built in the 1990s needed an update. The closed-in kitchen created a wall between the living spaces, and the decor, in saturated primary colours, produced a rather cold atmosphere. In 2017, the owners decided to refresh the property with a more contemporary and all-encompassing look.

    This was the challenge taken up by the Desjardins Bherer team. The partitions around the kitchen came down to create a completely open living area that would let in as much light as possible. Low storage cabinets were used to open and free up the space. The circulation was redefined, and the structure streamlined.

    A blank canvas… almost
    Since the house was built of concrete, it has no bearing walls, so the kitchen could be completely opened up to the living spaces. The only constraint was the polished concrete floor, which had a radiant heating system that could not be modified. Any changes to the pipes were out of the question.

    The kitchen is therefore the core of the property. White cabinets with a counter of the same colour, placed in front of a large, expanded window, can accommodate all the accessories. Two cabinet units of grey-stained oak face the kitchen, discretely demarcating the space.

    Unity, with ample storage
    The designer Marc Bherer and his team used uniformity to create a harmonious decor. Identical carpets in the living room and the sitting room create an attractive visual unity, as do the linen sofas and the reading lamps in the two spaces. The fireplace, open to both rooms and clad in concrete, also brings cohesion to the spaces.

    In the sitting room, a large storage space has been integrated under the fireplace, extending under the seat of the breakfast nook. This practical element blends into the room without adding clutter. The coffee tables and occasional tables have been selected for their simplicity, and their refinement add a graceful presence, much like the small armchairs. Artwork and souvenirs collected by the owners at their cottage maintain a discrete presence under the windows of the living room and the dining room.

    Interplay of textures and light
    The decor is replete with natural textures and neutral colours. Linen, bamboo, leather and “Chanel-type” fabrics cohabit with concrete and steel. The studied selection of materials, furniture and colours give the space a unique flavour, warmed by the light streaming in through the many openings on the ground floor.

    The entry to this skilfully updated home, called the “gallery,” displays photographs by one of the couple’s friends. The largest of these pictures, created for the space, graces the wall separating the kitchen from the entry. The gentle lighting of this room sets the tone, and each frame is lit separately.

    The centrepiece of the design: the suspension lamp in the dining room, a work in blown glass by Gabriel Scott. A true work of art, the lamp is reflected in the smoked-glass table to dramatic effect.

    Relieved of its partitions, the space can now express its full potential: an open plan, testimony to the grand theories of modern architecture. The textures, the materials and the pertinence of the design are highlighted in this home where the finely interwoven living spaces add to the joy of its occupants.

    Project Manager: Ingrid Savage / Photographs: Adrien Williams

• PROJET RÉSIDENTIEL : PLAN LIBRE

    Typologie : résidence principale à Montréal datant des années 1990. Date de réalisation : 2017 Clients : un couple de jeunes grands-parents voyageant constamment.


    Une maison de béton construite dans les années 1990 avait bien besoin d’un rajeunissement. La cuisine refermée sur elle-même créait un mur entre les espaces de vie et le décor aux couleurs primaires saturées, une ambiance plutôt froide. En 2017, les propriétaires décident de renouveler les lieux et de donner une allure plus contemporaine et enveloppante à leur propriété.

    Challenge accepté par l’équipe de Desjardins Bherer. La cuisine est décloisonnée pour créer une aire de vie complétement ouverte laissant entrer le maximum de lumière. Des rangements bas sont intégrés pour dégager et libérer l’espace. La circulation est redéfinie et la structure épurée.

    Une toile vierge… ou presque
    Parce qu’elle est construite en béton, la maison ne comporte pas de murs porteurs. Il est donc possible d’ouvrir complètement la cuisine sur les espaces de vie. La seule contrainte : le plancher en béton poli sous lequel est installé un système de chauffage radiant ne peut être altéré. Impossible de jouer avec la tuyauterie.

    La cuisine s'ancre donc au cœur de la propriété. Des armoires blanches surmontées d’un comptoir de la même couleur, placées devant la grande fenêtre qui a été élargie, accueillent tous les accessoires. En face, deux unités en chêne teint gris délimitent discrètement l’espace.

    Unité et rangement à profusion
    Le designer Marc Bherer et son équipe misent sur l’uniformité pour concevoir un décor harmonieux. Les tapis identiques du salon et de la salle de séjour créent une unité visuelle intéressante, tout comme les fauteuils de lin et les lampes de lecture qui habitent les deux espaces. Les foyers d’une pièce et de l’autre, recouverts de panneaux de béton, contribuent également à la cohésion des lieux.

    Dans la salle de séjour, un vaste rangement est intégré sous le foyer et se prolonge sous la banquette du coin-repas. Pratique, il se fond dans le décor pour ne pas encombrer l'endroit. Les tables à café et les tables d’appoint choisies pour leur simplicité et leur raffinement allègent l’espace, à l’instar des petits fauteuils sur pattes. Les objets d’art et les souvenirs recueillis au chalet par les propriétaires se font discrets sous les fenêtres du salon et de la salle à manger.

    Jeux de textures et de lumière
    Le décor est habillé de textures naturelles et de couleurs neutres. Le lin, le bambou, le cuir, les tissages ‘’façon Chanel’’, le béton et l’acier se côtoient. Les choix étudiés des matériaux, des mobiliers et de leur couleur donnent un caractère unique à l’espace, réchauffé par la lumière venant des multiples ouvertures du rez-de-chaussée.

    L’entrée de cette maison habilement actualisée, appelée la « galerie », propose des œuvres photographiques d’un ami du couple. La plus imposante, créée sur mesure, habille le mur qui sépare la cuisine de l’entrée. L’éclairage tout en douceur de cette pièce donne le ton à l’endroit. Chaque tableau bénéficie aussi d’un éclairage particulier.

    Le clou de l'aménagement : la suspension de la salle à manger, une création en verre soufflé de Gabriel Scott. Véritable œuvre d’art, elle se réfléchit dans le panneau de verre fumé de la table pour un effet dramatique.

    L’espace allégé de ses cloisons révèle ici tout son potentiel : un plan libre, témoignage des grandes théories de l’architecture moderne. Les textures, les matières et la justesse de l’aménagement sont mis en lumière dans cette résidence où les aires de vies finement tissées participent au bonheur des occupants.

    Chargée de projet : Ingrid Savage / Photos : Adrien Williams