• PROJECT : JANOR SHOWROOM

    Setting (typology): A professional showroom covering a complete floor (9,650 square feet) in a manufacturing building. Year of construction: 2008 Client: Janor, a manufacturer and importer-distributor of ready-to-wear women's fashions.


    “In 2007 I was hired to design a small showroom in Toronto. When the client contacted me again for this project, the mandate was based on a simple idea: it should be something that would get everyone in the Montreal fashion industry talking, just as the other project had done in Toronto. The challenge? To create an event, yet remain low-key. If the design drew too much attention to itself, it would show a complete misunderstanding of the very nature of a showroom.”

    A certain degree of modesty was therefore required. The project needed to stay within the idea of a neutral container rather than impose a style that would interfere with the merchandise on display. Of course, anonymity was not an option, either. On the contrary, the showroom needed to make it clear that this is a company on the cutting edge of international trends, in design as well as in fashion. The showroom would need to make the buyer feel privileged, comfortable and cut off from the outside world. In other words, it should put buyers in the mood for buying.

    Taking my lead from haute couture, the elevator opens directly into the reception area. The visitor immediately begins to enjoy touches of luxury as they are understood today: space and calm. A suspended ceiling conceals technical and mechanical equipment, a white noise system neutralizes ambient noise, and white is omnipresent, dematerializing surfaces. The only decorative elements – two antique, monumental urns – stand on fluorescent-green bases. They and the large colour photographs of the silos at the Old Port by Diana Shearwood “humanize” the minimalist approach.

    One might easily think this is an entry hall for a high-end art gallery owner, except that the showroom, seen just behind the reception desk, already signals the purpose of the space. Through a glass partition, in which imperceptible inclusions of white ceramic slightly distort the perspective and generate an iridescent luminosity, the clothing appears as in a dream. A full-height but narrow opening marks access to the corridor that leads to the showroom space, which is laid out in an "L" along windowed walls. The theme of the project is to only reveal small amounts at any given time, a refined strategy of seduction.

    For flexibility’s sake, no wall breaks up the showroom space, whose volume is modulated by mobile presentation screens that serve the needs of different collections and seasons. Here again, partitions of glass with inclusions establish a barrier between the circulation space and the commercial area. Opening up at each end, the partitions make the corridor feel like a friendly pedestrian street lined with chic boutiques. Buyers move freely in and out of the different sections (cocktail dresses, suits, furs, etc.) or circulate inside them, from one collection to the next, for a general impression of fashion trends. 

    The idea behind the decor – or rather, the anti-decor – of the exhibition loft space is one of highlighting through contrast. The absence of points of reference defers to the clothing on display. The ceiling, walls, flooring and furniture merge in a palette of warm whites that capture the originality of Janor’s designs and bring out the true colours of the fabrics. The steel structure for the suspended coat racks is of exemplary discretion, a comfortable pile floor covering dampens the sound of footsteps, and the restricted height of the suspended ceilings creates a sense of intimacy. To keep the view of the city from distracting buyers from the clothes, the walls and windows are hung in veils of linen. The filtered daylight takes on a soft and mellow honey colour.

    Emptying the space while filling it with meaning, sensuality and emotion: in design, modesty is clearly a high-wire act. It requires complete mastery of space, materials, and lighting and, strangely, it demands even more creativity than over-design.

    Project Manager : Marc Bherer / Photographs : André Doyon

• PROJET : SALLE DE MONTRE JANOR

    Lieu (typologie) : Un showroom professionnel occupant un étage complet (9 650 pieds carrés) dans un immeuble à vocation manufacturière  Date de réalisation : 2008 Client : Janor, fabricant et importateur-distributeur de prêt-à-porter féminin


    «En 2007, j’ai réalisé pour le client une petite salle d’exposition à Toronto. Quand il m’a confié ce nouveau projet, son mandat tenait à une phrase : quelque chose dont le tout Montréal mode parlera, comme ça été le cas des Torontois… Le défi? Créer l’événement en restant discret. Si le décor apparaissait, ce serait le signe d’une incompréhension absolue de ce qu’est un showroom».

    Il fallait donc de la modestie. Se confiner à la notion d’un conteneur neutre plutôt qu’imposer un style qui parasiterait la marchandise exposée. Pas question évidemment de viser l’anonymat. Le showroom devait au contraire transmettre le message fort que l’entreprise se situe à la fine pointe de la tendance internationale, aussi bien en design qu’en mode. Il s’agissait en outre de générer une ambiance où l’acheteur se sentirait à la fois privilégié, à l’aise et coupé du monde extérieur. Autrement dit : In the mood for buying.

    À l’exemple des maisons haute-couture,  l’ascenseur s’ouvre directement sur le hall de réception. Dès l’entrée, le visiteur jouit des éléments essentiels au luxe dans sa version d’aujourd’hui, l’espace et le calme. Un plafond suspendu dissimule l’appareillage technique et mécanique, un système générateur de bruit blanc (white noise) neutralise le brouhaha ambiant, l’omniprésence du blanc dématérialise les surfaces. Seules éléments décoratifs, deux urnes anciennes monumentales sur socle vert fluo. Combinées aux grandes photos couleurs de Diana Shearwood, illustrant des silos de Vieux-Port, elles  «humanisent»  le minimalisme de la pièce.

    On croirait l’antichambre d’un riche galeriste d’art contemporain.  Sauf que derrière le comptoir d’accueil, une salle d’exposition annonce déjà la finalité du lieu. Au travers la cloison de verre, où d’imperceptibles inclusions de céramique blanche troublent légèrement la perspective et diffusent une luminosité opaline, les vêtements apparaissent comme un rêve. Une ouverture, pleine hauteur mais étroite, marque l’accès au couloir qui dessert l’espace showroom, implanté en "L" le long des murs fenêtrés. Dévoiler peu à peu pour mieux séduire, tel est le leitmotiv du projet.

    Pour des raisons évidentes de flexibilité, aucun mur ne fragmente la salle exposition-vente dont le volume se module, selon les collections et les saisons, à l’aide d’écrans présentoirs mobiles. Là encore, des cloisons de verre à inclusions marquent la frontière entre zone commerciale et aire de circulation. Ouvertes à chaque extrémité, elles donnent au couloir l’aspect convivial d’une rue piétonnière bordée de boutiques chic. Au choix, l’acheteur peut entrer et ressortir d’une section spécifique (robes cocktail, tailleurs, fourrures, etc.) ou circuler à l’intérieur, d’une collection à l’autre, afin d’avoir une idée générale des tendances mode. 

    Le décor - ou plutôt l’anti-décor – du loft d’exposition s’ancre sur la notion de valorisation par contraste, où l’absence de repères fait ressortir les vêtements. Plafond, murs, sol et mobilier se confondent en une palette de blancs chauds qui permet de capter l’originalité des modèles et la juste couleur des étoffes. La structure en acier des porte-manteaux suspendus est d’une discrétion exemplaire, une moquette confortable étouffe le bruit des pas, la hauteur réduite du plafond crée un sentiment d’intimité. Pour éviter que l’attention ne soit distraite par la vue sur la ville, les murs de fenêtres sont habillés de voilages en lin. La lumière du jour ainsi filtrée prend une couleur de miel, douce et moelleuse.

    Vider les lieux tout en les chargeant de sens, de sensualité et d’émotion : on l’aura compris, le design modeste est un exercice de haut vol. Il demande une maîtrise totale de l’espace, des matériaux, de l’éclairage, et, étrangement, encore plus de créativité que l’over-design. 

    Chargé de projet : Marc Bherer / Texte : Myriam Gagnon / Photos : André Doyon